School Board names Principals of the Year named at school board meeting

Johnny Vitrano, Mary Ann Cucchiara and Lauren Spencer, principals at Fontainebleau High, Mandeville Junior High and Madisonville Elementary schools, respectively, were named Principals of the Year for St. Tammany Parish and will now compete in the regional Principal of Year competition.

The three principals were each recognized by the St. Tammany Parish School Board Thursday night and accepted their awards humbly.

“I feel like I’ve been given a People’s Choice Award,” said Spencer.

They each hold at least master’s degrees in education and each have been with the school system at least 23 years with extensive educational experience.

Neal Hennegan was also recognized at the meeting for the two years of service he gave as president of the School Board. The board passed a resolution thanking him for his dedication to the students and school system of the parish.

Also recognized for their 24,500 miles covered daily in St. Tammany Parish, the school bus owners and operators have been recognized in a proclamation setting aside the week of Feb. 9-13 as St. Tammany Parish Schools bus safety and school bus owner/operator and school bus aide appreciation week.

The Northshore High School girls’ swim team was recognized by the board for winning the Louisiana State Championship, the first local public school team to accomplish the feat.

In addition, the combined GPA average of team members is 3.49 with one senior member accepted and planning to attend the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the fall.

Other recognitions and awards at the School Board meeting included the nationally certified speech pathologists /audiologist and the United Way Superintendent’s Awards.

In business matters, the board approved retirement resolutions for four certified personnel, including Karen Roberts, Bonnie Trippe, Darelyn Messenger and Jesse Carlin III as well as resolutions for eight non-certified personnel: Bonnie Walker, Forrest Green, Ann Ferrara, Linda Roan, Betty Bufkin, Charles Silvan, Annie Sylve and Bobbie Rodehorst.

Author: slidellsentry